Saturday, 7 July 2012

Doom Rider



Two confessions: I've met David Gatward on a few occassions and found him to be a tolerably decent chap and Hodder sent me a proof copy to read, which was very kind of them. So what is the book about?

"Seth Crow has lived a thousand lives, and in each one he's been murdered before he turns thirteen. And now he's being hunted again. But this time it's different ...

Enter Lily, who tells him of his fate: Seth is CONQUEST. The first of the four riders of the Apocalypse. And people want him dead, before he can fulfil his destiny.
Seth's only hope lies in finding the other riders - Strife, Famine and Death. Together the fate of the world will be in their hands.
The Apocalypse is coming. And the only ones who can save the world, hold the power to destroy it."

I really enjoyed this book. It's pacy and Seth immediately got my sympathy. He's edgy but as you read, it becomes obvious why. I loved the world Gatward painted. A world not far from this one where people put their faith in false prophets and it's impossible to distinguish who are the real ones! A world of chaos and political manipulation. And yet we still see something worth saving through the loyalty and friendship of the characters.

There are moments of real sorrow for Seth and some great horror scenes too.

What I loved most of all, though, were the horses. A horseman of the apolcalypse has to have a horse right? And these monstrous bruisers are not of the My Little Pony mould. They're brilliant skull-crushing monsters that any doom-merchant would be proud to ride!


Doom Rider is an action-packed and thought-provoking adventure that will appeal to fans of The Dead, The Dark and The Damned. Go out and buy it now while you're waiting for my next book.

No comments: